D. Wynne Thorne Career Research Award

Named after USU’s first Vice President for Research, the D. Wynne Thorne Career Research Award is given to an individual on the USU campus who has completed outstanding research in his or her career.

The award is given annually to one outstanding university researcher who is recommended by a committee of peers, all previous award recipients. Nominees are evaluated for the significance and quality of their research and creative achievement and recognition by national and international experts.

Bruce Bugbee, recipient of the 2016 D. Wynne Thorne Career Research Award

Bruce Bugbee teaches Crop Physiology and Plant Nutrition at Utah State University where he was awarded the Graduate Mentor of the Year award in 2001, the Researcher of the Year award for the College of Agriculture in 2005, and the Governors Medal for Science and Technology in 2012.  He is a past Chairman of the Crop Physiology division of the American Society of Agronomy.  Much of his research has been funded by NASA to study the physiology of plants in the controlled environments of space.   He has been an invited speaker at several Universities as well as conferences in Europe, Australia, New Zealand, China, and Brazil and has authored or co-authored over 100 journal articles and book chapters.